Well, summer's in peak now. It's been fairly dry, although there is nothing more refreshing than a late evening rain, which actually happens quite often. I love to wake up and hear the drops on the tin trailer roof, but much too often I also realise two minutes later that I had clothes on the line (which my friend Sherry pointed out also). Wearin' weathered clothes around aint too bad of a thang I reckon ;)
On a more important (and not really dog related) note, I am currently on bed rest (or house rest?) for an unannounced amount of time (maybe up to a year) because of an injury from an accident that happened two weeks ago. I will not go into details, for privacy reasons, but I will say I was shot accidently with a .45 and my Tibia (larger bone in the calf) was crushed so I had to have a rod the length of my calf put in and screws to hold it in place. I was in the hospital for 5 days, but now the main part is done. I still require atleast two more surgeries, both skin and bone graphs. I am doing well now, I have alot of great people to help me - including my ever faithful boyfriend (and his family) and the few left in my family. As expected, I am very greatful to be alive, as well as all the help I have been getting. I know, you're probably wondering.. who's feeding your dogs? Well they are NOT on my property (I don't own any property) and they are at my grandmothers land, so her and my mother have been switching off taking turns feeding and scooping.
I did get to see them for the FIRST time since the accident today with Robert (boyfriend) and my mom. They helped me down to the kennels on my walker and I sat down in my wheelchair as they fed and set them loose to run around. As the owner of my dogs, I did see ALOT of things that have went downhill since I got hurt, and it was disturbing to me since I am VERY picky (I mean like OCD picky) about my dogyard, the way they are fed and the way things are repaired, etc. All the dogs are shedding, and they aren't fed the way I would feed them.. but I'm really trying my best to be thankful someone is doing it, because atleast they are getting (mostly) poop scooped and fed... the main neccesities. It's just a little tough to swallow seeing how different everything is and how it is not done MY way since *I* am the only one who did everything for my dogs before the accident. But like I said, I am thankful for the help and hoping for a fast, good recovery. On a more happier note, Every one of my dogs wollered all over me before it was time to go. This is the longest I have ever went without seeing my dogs, and it was a beautiful happy reunion, especially with the people and dogs I love the most in my life.
Did I also mention I had to quit my tobbacco (because of the injury)? : / They told me it would prolong the healing process and could slow down the recovery and could take twice as long to repair and heal again. So like an innocent-looking woman I have only had one dip of Skoal long cut cherry and one Menthol Swisher-Sweet cigar. Oh, nicotine friend of mine, how I miss thee.
I also wanted to take a moment in this post to tell a little bit about Robert. Well, hell... where to start? Everything about him is amazing. He is one of the most caring, loving and handsome men I have ever came to know, and the only I have ever really loved with all of my heart and soul. We've been through some tough times, but storms never last for the true love that we have came to discover for each other. I have dragged him into 10 degree frosty mornings camping out in the woods to run dogs before, started playing pool and darts again since we met and even sang karaoke for the first time EVER because he introduced me to it. I am the person I wanted to always be when I am with him. The best part, he LOVES dogs and you would NOT believe how much we have in common. We both have the EXACT same taste in music, and I don't mean like we both like country and rock... I mean as in right down to the artist and song, old stuff no one our age has ever even heard of. Like "Hold On Loosely", "The Legend", and "Phantom 309" type of deal. We both are nitty gritty country folk, both crave the old lifestyle (the kind my older family still lives) as mountain folk, with cattle and horses, grow ya own and burn it for heat kind of thing. We both have dreams of one day packing it all up and moving out west where it's all high, open and free. Once we're together, were unstoppable. Hitting every dirt road in the surrounding three counties, chasing storms, haulin dogs, parkin down in some fishin' hole, or just jammin round our hicktown to some kick ass tunes. There is nothing.. and I really mean that... NOTHING like being with Robert. He is everything I want in a partner and even more as a friend. I would be lost without him.
Well anyways, that's my post for now. I did mean to say I updated my Flickr photo account to "Pro" so I've uploaded an insane amount to it. If you want to see my stream, you can see it here - RedneckSledDogs Flickr
Hope all is well with everyone and enjoy summer while ya can!
Over and out,
-J, R and Team SSpirit
"Train roll on, on down the line... why don't you please take me far, far away?" ~ Tuesday's Gone [Lynyrd Skynyrd]
Hope all is well with everyone and enjoy summer while ya can!
Over and out,
-J, R and Team SSpirit



No comments:
Post a Comment