I originally meant to get up early (about 6) hydrate and be gone before 9, but when I set my alarm I almost completely ignored it and was way to tired to get up, despite that was the only time there was any snow left. I awoke at noon, with a sore side (I dont know from what yet) and looked out the door only to see several lonely patches of snow left and the sun shining. You would figure by the looks of it, it had to be 50 out there but when I opened the door I shut it within seconds lol really bitter cold, wind was rough too. Looked up the weather and saw it was 20 degrees with a 15 degree windchill... yay! Hydrated the dogs, and got everything ready and then took my sweet time hooking up. I never try to just hook them straight up while theyre screaming and jumping and then take off, because it just teaches them to be like that. Zorro and Waylon are such good boys and sat patiently as I went to get Stormer who always lines out perfectly. Of course I saved miss hot pants for last (Calamity Jane) because she always screams and harness bangs, but I made her wait too. We took off after a little more waiting, this time a MUCH better takeoff than our others, I made the turn and held down the brake just enough to make a smooth turn. We went up the hill, and I didnt have to hardley peddle at all!! My dogs were slow going up the hill, but I was ON the rig, praising them with everything I had.. already a good start. Almost hit my neighbors mailbox (again) but managed to miss it just in time and made the dogs wait while I moved the rig around it. We took off down the road with a good speed despite me having to stop them at the bottom of another hill to fix my magnet on my speedometer, and we were off again. I yelled "Gee, Girls!" and they did it with no hesitation and then again at the stop sign.. another smooth turn right on cue.
I had to step on the brake most of the first two miles to maintain a easy slower speed (8-10 mph) so the dogs could reserve their energy all the way through the 7 miles. About the 4th mile, Calamity (who is in season, ugh) started to goof around and site see. She eventually gave up because I guess she knew she wasnt going to go anywhere as long as I was on the rig.
We passed the county line into Catawba County and all the cars that were behind me were very nice and passed us with ease, which is a good thing. I never liked running on the highway because some people speed and are just plain jerks. I can;t run alot on the highway though, because it is hard on the dogs feet. Once a week we go try out dirt trails, no way would I run pavement all the time.

Stopping right after crossing the county line (the small sign behind us says "Catawba County"
We also passed a field full of about 20 or so cows. I saw them from a distance and thought "oh great, now all my team is gonna go nutzo". Zorro, who is usuallly all work and full blown in harness suddenly perked up, tail and ears held high. Of course Calamity (who needs some serious On-By training) wanted to stop and have a sniff... eh a BITE maybe LOL Stormer and Waylon were great and didnt aknowledge the cows much. The cows stuck their heads over the fence as I was yelling at Calamity to "LEAVE IT, ON BY CALAMITY" the entire stretch of fence and they actually were RUNNING along the fenceline! weird! I had never seen cows do that, but they sure seemed interested. I mumbled as I pushed the rig along as fast as I could "dang cows, go away! we dont need no groupies!". We got to the intersection, took another longer break with some water as I sat down with them and gave them a few head scratches, hugs and belly rubs and also checked their feet, which all was fine. After about 15 minutes and alot of weird looks by spectators, we turned around and started the way again.
We took another break soon after, checking their feet again and all was well. I could tell they had been working hard and were doing very well... I was really pleased. We came across one house, about a mile from our turn taking us back to the road at the house where they have a pretty nosey boxer. This is the same dog who distracted my team the first time on this road so bad they completely tore down into his owners yard and said hello. Calamity wanted to stop again (of course) but I didnt let her, and we went back up the hill. About this time, Calamity suddenly jerked off the road, making zorro and waylon (in wheel) skid sideways across the road. I stomped up to calamity, pointed my finger at her harshly and said "dammit Calamity you and your friggin sight seeing" and then she KNEW what she did. My poor boys, I knew their feet had to be scraped now. Sure enough, I went to check waylons feet and two back nails on one foot were quicked, but had dryed up. Zorro had a small scrape on one paw, but I decided since we were only a little bit from the house, I would treat it with tar oil and first aid spray when I picketed everyone out and take it easy from here. After that break and some more water, we took a pretty slow run the rest of the way home, with some more really great command turns made with ease. We even made it down the driveway hill really good this time, as the dogs crept down it, making it very easy. I parked the rig in the driveway, put everyone on their picketlines and went inside to make them a good warm meal. I fetched the bowls, fed everyone a mixture of lard/egg white protien and kibble which they always really like. After I was done with them, I fed the other dogs in the kennel the same meal... good day to be a dog, particularly a redneck sled dog :)
I sat there for almost an hour, watching the dogs doze off in the sunset sun as I snapped a few nice pictures. It was an awesome run, a beautiful day with the ones I love to spend my time with- My dogs.

A picture I took of Waylon on the Picket

and one of Zorro
In conclusion, the results were-
Average Speed- 9.6 mph
Max Speed- 19 mph
Time- 44 minutes (an average of about 6 and half minutes per mile)
No comments:
Post a Comment