The TrailBreakers Sled Dog Club hosted the ISDRA sanctioned dryland dog sled race on November 8th and 9th, 2008. Awesome weekend, way to go TBSDC!
We (me and Robin) had been looking at a few 'near' races including this one and the Sinnemahoning Dryland race up in PA, but figured the one in Ohio would be a more sensible trip (considering we had to train a little before we ran up to a race!).
The week before the race we hardley got a handfull of runs in because it just hadnt cooled off enough. In the tailend of the training, we realized that maybe we were pushing the dogs too much in the heat so we slacked off for a few days, then hit the road, race bound.
We had read the forecast for the weekend of the race before leaving. We expected high 40's and light rain for both days, boy did someone lie! The day before the races it was like 60 degrees when we pulled into Ohio. We were kind of glad we didnt pack camping gear and camp out, because it would have been really miserable once the temperature started to drop. Race day came, and the rain sure wasnt late... everything was soaked (including the spot we parked at, it quickly became a mud hole). I didnt mind the mud too much since it was mid 40's when we pulled into the race site. The temperature quickly dropped and I was glad (because I was worried they would call off the race, and you have no idea how pissed we would have been considering the 400 mile trip back home) but quickly got cold, even with my jacket. I think it got low 30's during our stay, drizzling the whole time. I even spotted a few flurries and ice specks! (note: I only had a hoodie, thermal shirt, jeans and insulated boots on, NO GLOVES!)
Before the Mushers Meeting took place the morning of the first day of the race, I met a ton of really nice people, including Mark Broughton, Johnn Moulburg, Keith Omnerick (maker of Cannonball Racing Rigs) and Sally Dawson (with her Airedale team). Jim parked beside us with his beautiful mushing family and their pretty cool bus turned dog truck. I had saw the Cannonball Racing Rigs trailer at the Red Roof Inn when we passed to go the race site and got all excited "ooooh! look!!! there's Cannonball!". When I actually walked over to them at the race site I drooled.. God they are NICE! Full suspension, Disk brakes and a unique steering system. Nice prices too, considered to the Outlaw Rigs. We went and talked to him, got a few business cards and looked at some of the rigs. He had Jan Boots-Ditmarr rig (winningest ISDRA Dryland rig in the curcuit right now) and was selling it for 800$ ( a third of the price!) Robin jumped on it and we both jumped for joy. She probably has the best rig collection ever, more less in the south. A rig for every need!
Robin planned to run the 6 dog and 2 dog scooter ISDRA classes, while I entered the 2-4 dog Novice class. I had originally planned to race Satin, Calamity, Waylon and Gloria but training before the race quickly shot satin and gloria out of the race plans (Satin decided to be along for the ride, and Gloria still needs confidence building). I didnt mind just running a 2 dog team on the little arctic rig, so settled with a waylon-wheel and calamity-lead team (single file). I helped Robin and both her teams up to the chute and led them back to the truck when they returned. Before I knew it I was up.. Robin offered me Cherie (Waylon and Gloria's dam) to add to my two dog team if I wanted to use her, so I said yes. I put her and Waylon (her son) in wheel and Calamity in single lead. Calamity has always been a great leader, single or double so I didnt have any doubts about my team. We got up to the chute (Robin handling for me this time) and counted down. We were let go and I thought we were on our way, but then a team swept in front of us (1500 feet of head on passing, bleh) and I got tangled in them. I felt so horrible, I was screwing up their time AND mine. I lost count of how many tangles happened that day and was disgusted at my time when we returned (17 mins 36 secs). I had to switch my leaders when we coming up the hill back up to the chute because calamity was slacking the WHOLE WAY and kept getting tangled with my wheel guys. I crashed coming up the hill (foot slipped the runner and I put pressure down) following I had a asthma attack. Joy. I felt so humiliated because I KNOW people were watching and I felt like screaming. I later found out Robin's leader was doing the same thing and made a centerpeice slack, causing tangles. I had to take two tokes of my inhaler just to calm down and breathe again while she dropped the dogs for me. I hid in the truck for a few minutes then continued on with my day. Glad I was in Novice class, people make mistakes!

my race photo, leaving the chute day 1
I was pretty agitated too that calamity had a slack tug. She had always been a stellar leader and was thoroughly reliable. After discussing it for some time we settled for the fact that we just didn't have much training time in to experiment with team arrangements and that our dogs are used to the tree-lined forest trails in the south, unlike the open field like trail at the race.
The next day I rearranged my team differently and we made a beautiful run. 10 minutes and 32 seconds was our time and I was pleased. 6th place stinks but we made a huge comeback from yesterday's disaster, so 5 and half minute miles really aren't all that bad. Calamity ran single wheel beautifully and Waylon and Cherie ran an effortless double lead. We had a few tangles that I had to hop off for, but nothing like the day before. We passed teams with hardley more than a sniff whereas yesterday they wanted to stop in the middle of the trail and meet.
Anyways, It was a good weekend. I met some of the most wonderful people and had a ball despite my accidents. We enjoyed staying at the hotel but sorta wished we had went to the Sinnemahoning race too. This will definitly be a race I will attend next year as well. We even discussed the Fair Hill Dryland Challenge (wether we should go or not) when we hadnt thought much about it before. We'll see about that next year. Before leaving the site for good and saying bye, I put the dogs back in the boxes humming "If Heaven Aint Alot Like Dixie".
By the way... never stay at Chardon Inn unless you like people calling your phone at 11:30 at night and asking "have you seen my wife?" LOL
No comments:
Post a Comment