Thursday, September 2, 2010

First Run of the 08-09 Season (8/23/2008)

Well, I'm putting it in my log for the first run of the 08-09 season
anyways.
I'm making some changes this year. First off, I'm starting a log. I
keep down conditions, time left and returned, number of dogs (and the
names of who i run) and i need to buy a speedometer/odometer for
speed and distance so i can keep everything accurate too. I looked at
the computer version in the files of one of the groups I am in.. but i decided it
would be easier to keep this one in notebook, but i may keep an
online one for reference later.
It was 72 degrees and 74% humidity, slightly cloudy, wind was
steadily stirring and the dogs really seemed to enjoy laying around
in the large run most of the day. Well untill i brought out those
harnesses LOL everyone saw em and just started screaming! I figured
since it was cooler and we were going to do a short run I could go
ahead and run my 4. I hydrated the four i was going to take; Storm,
Satin, Calamity and Waylon (formerly Robin's Herald, this was his
first time being hooked up with the team).I finnally got around to
tightening my brakes on the trike, set up my 4 dog line and was ready
to go. I bought a snub line right before last season ended and never
got around to using it.. but there was nothing in the driveway that i
could snub the trike to, so i just put the parking brakes on. I
grabbed my three dog coupler and my double ended leash and got all
four at once. I literally, no joke, almost fell face first. I barely
got the kennel gate latched when they tore up the hill towards the
driveway where they knew either the truck or the trike would be
waiting. Everyone was way excited and didnt take long for them to get
tangled in the leash before hookup, and the other dogs down in the
kennels were screaming their heads off. After about 10 minutes at
hookup (and waylon doing 360's, screaming and slightly biting the
line) everyone was ready to go. Thank GOD my parking brakes are
tight, although it did move a little bit because the gravel shifts.
here comes my neighbor, little 6th grader Ashley (oh how she loves my
huskies) with something in her hand for my grandmother to sign. I
told her i didnt have time, that i had dogs to run. She got all
bright eyed and said "I'll lead 'em for ya!". I agreed and kept the
dogs pretty slowed down untill we got down the driveway into the road
below, but not as soon as we hit the road and i was ready to go, here
comes Amy in the dogtruck waving at us as we tiptoe by. Waylon was
getting aggrivatted and started chewing on the lines, but with a
sharp "NO!" he looked back at me like "well, why not we dont seem to
be moving" lol.
After lining everyone out again i let go of the brakes (our road is
like a rollercoaster, big hill and little slope)and they were TEARING
up the hill. My jaw dropped at Waylon... he dug into the hillside and
up we went. I am just super happy with how he handled that hill. I
didnt really expect him to pull much in this run, although i had done
several sessions of training with him and his sister, Gloria.
I felt terrible because i had to stop at about 3/4 of the hill and
get off the trike and push. I kept meaning to put the chain back on
it... oh how i would love to have a rig you can just pedal as you
wish and have room doing it. I hate how the back tire digs into my
calf when i push and when the pedals are always in the way when youre
just scootering along. I knew stopping on the hill was NOT good and
definitly not something waylon should get on his first experience.. i
dont want it to be a habit. I am sincerly hoping to get a REAL rig
this fall or winter, even if i have to get a local welder to make one
(so tough finding one in my budget and one that isnt gigantic).
After defeating "THE Hill" we made it up to our street up above. Not
a favorite place to run because of everyone's loose dogs suddenly
jumping out of the bushes everywhere you turn, but i decided a few
times up and back would be good for today's run since it still is
considered very warm. Ashley was still toting along when we reached
the street, and then i let the dogs pick up speed. My two lead girls,
calamity and satin listened perfectly and did every turn with ease.
Ashley was determined to run a team of dogs but i was hesitant. I let
thhe dogs ride on the brakes while i trotted alongside the trike and
let ashely 'attempt' steering LOL I think she put way too much
effort into it, and almost flipped the trike. I couldnt explain why
she couldnt steer my trike, when she rides her bike all the time.
After letting the dogs visit a neighbor (oh how i showed them off and
they met their pit bull, bandit) we went back and fourth about three
times. The last time we turned around she wanted to steer again, but
i let her know that i really needed to just let them get a small run
in and we could do all this training later on in the season when it
was cooler. She insisted that she go get her bike and run two, so i
said fine, and came back and hooked two of my more experienced girls
up to her bike and off we went. I told her the basic commands, but it
didnt matter. Storm and satin both know their commands very well and
arent the kind of dogs to all of a sudden whip off in the grass after
a bunny like calamity or waylon would. Satin is the master of Gee and
Haw around by the way... dont even have to get off my trike for
that.. i just call her, say Gee around (or Haw around) and she does
it first try. I took calamity and Waylon and we both kept a nice
speed. The whole time satin and storm were pulling ashley along on
her bike she was yelling "yahoo! this so so much fun!!! I LOVE DOGS
and MUSHING!" LOL
Unfortunatly i stripped the threading out of my camera i use most of
the time (dont ask, it was a STUPID move) so when i do take videos
and such from now on im going to have to use my little HP camera. So
I cant tell everyone how that mount worked, because i didnt get to
try it. I did happen to get a few still pictures though.
So yes... It was a great start to the season. I'm welcoming fall more
and more and the air is seemingly starting to get more crisp. The best
part about it is i figured waylon would be the one who would need
training on that run, but in reality, I had to train my neighbor. :p
the team before turning in

No comments:

Post a Comment