Thursday, September 2, 2010

Snow!- Jan. 19th, 2009

So I admit it. I acted like a kid when I saw the snow coming down good Monday night (Jan. 19th). We had been getting an excellent cold front in the south and I was trying to take every advantage of it. I had been keeping close tabs on the forecast ever since I got a glimpse of 'mysterious white stuff that falls from the sky' in the weekends layout. I had taken a test run with 3 dogs with the rig Saturday morning (cold as he!l too) but it didn't turn out so swell and I was lucky enough to get back to the truck because my bolts for putting the steering on were too small and it had too much play in it, and my brake kept locking or not working at all. I finnally got everything by Sunday night figured out and was praying all day that we would atleast get an inch, enough to make it cold and beautiful to run the dogs in. After feeding and scooping, I finished the rig and was prepared (and was still really hoping) for a good snowy run. We went out to take Beth to the grocery store and soon as we hit Morganton we saw flakes! Now I have been to plenty of other places where they got snow, but its been a while since I've seen snow here. last year when I was up in VA training, they got a few inches down here, but we also got a good amount up in VA too, so no loss.
Honestly, I also wanted some snow to take pictures in too. I always love a good sled dog team in the snow picture, and wanted some of my own. I didnt have enough time (or bravery lol) to drive my team with a sled up in WV during Thanksgiving  and take pictures in the snow too, so I really wanted a good winter looking shot of my team. 

By time it was midnight we had almost 2 inches, and it was beautiful! glittering in the street light at the driveway, and shimmering along the fenceline where the kennel lights brightened the night sky. I went to bed and woke at 7, hydrated the dogs at 8 and got all the gear out. I snubbed the rig to the old dog truck's bumper and stretched my 6 dog picket line Robin gave me across two trees adjacent to the driveway and kennels. I was so grateful she gave it to me, getting the dogs all the way from the kennels to the gangline in the driveway was my least favorite part of running dogs out from the driveway and ultimately the reason why we hardley ever tryed it and made it out, even when I had my trike.
I got Storm (my old red head leader) Calamity (up and coming leader) Zorro (my rock solid wheel boy) and Waylon (runs just about anywhere right now, but has leader potential) and put them on the picketline and harnessed them up. Usually I would just hook the harnesses up straight up to the tuglines and then add the dogs, but figure I would do it my old way for once (laying out the harnesses and then adding the dogs straight onto the line takes much less time, but I was in no hurry).
My last few runs were just hook up fast and get going, but I was fed up with my dogs harness banging and getting tangled within the first minute I hook them up. They are GOING to learn line out and wait (they know wait, just not all that well in harness  lol).
I hooked Zorro (who really knows his sits and waits) then Waylon, Then Storm and Calamity last. The other dogs in the kennels were screaming, which I'm sure also gets the team riled, but I let them know we arent going anywhere in a hurry and they will wait, and be nice about it.

and it worked!


I told them "Wait!" and "Line Out" and they followed it like a dream. They did this for a good 15 minutes, and I was really excited. I would really love a team that will wait on me untill *I* am ready to go. I hopped on the rig and we took off down the driveway, and up the hill with ease. I had to peddle a few times, but nothing like I had to do on the trike, GOD I was so happy to have my rig!

It was an amazing run, one of my favorites thus far. My team all pulled magnificently and the scenery was awesome. I was standing down on the brake almost all the time, though, because the ice was so bad and I hadnt quite got the steering down yet. We Hydroplaned once, but the dogs didnt seem to notice.



I'm not sure exactly how far we went because my magnet wasnt connecting or something on my Odometer. I think we went atleast 4 miles, but I put it in my log as 3 miles.
Certianly was a memoriable run in that mysterious white stuff and iced roads!

No comments:

Post a Comment